Category: news

  • Pyttogram

  • Hymn For Hope

    New album out now! Hymn For Hope at Bandcamp Tore Brunborg, saxThomas T Dahl, guitarHans Hulbækmo, drumsMats Eilertsen, bass “Album of the year!” -Dag og Tid

  • Solitude Central

    Available for preorder now! ”Technically the best bass playing this reviewer has ever heard, in the service of a fascinating, creative improvisational journey”bass playing this reviewer has ever heard, in the service of a fascinating, creative improvisational journey” Mark Sullivan /AllAboutJazz /NorwegianDigitalJazzFestival Fra Punkt-festivalen Sep 2020

  • Memorabilia

    New album out now! “Memorabilia” Mats Eilertsen Trio & Trio Mediaeval (Memorabilia; memorable objects, events, occasions) Anna Maria Frimann, vocalsLinn Andrea Fuglseth, vocalsJorunn Lovise Husa, vocalsHarmen Fraanje, pianoThomas Strønen, drumsMats Eilertsen, bass The cover is painted by Lars Elling. “Out Stealing Horses” Where to get it

  • Memorabilia i Operaen!

    Cancelled due to Corona/Covid-19   We will perform Memorabilia in the Norwegian Opera House, Sunday 12th of April at 1700! Mats Eilertsen Trio and Trio Mediaeval. Looking very much forward to playing in this magnificent building!   Get your tickets here:

  • Reveries and Revelations

    New album out now for Hubromusic Reveries and Reveries Release: 14.06.2019 UK release: 06.08.2019 Pre-order All music by Mats Eilertsen and the musicians. Arranged and assembled by Mats Eilertsen. Geir Sundstøl: guitar, national guitar, banjo track #1 and #9. Eivind Aarset: guitar track #3. Per Oddvar Johansen: snare drum track #10. Thomas Strønen: drums, percussion […]

  • Video from Brorson Kirke

    From our performance in the beautiful Brorson Kirke, Copenhagen, earlier this year!

  • Mats Eilertsen Trio Album-release and Tour 2019


  • new recording

    Just had some fabulous days now in May in Lugano recording a new album with the Mats Eilertsen Trio for ECM. Absolutely stunning playing from Harmen Fraanje and Thomas Strønen and a truly great experience as always with producer Manfred Eicher and technician Stefano Amerio. Looking forward to share the music with you all!

  • Sun Sparkle

    New Album released in February Hubro   Thomas T Dahl, guitar Mats Eilertsen, bass Olavi Louhivuori, drums   31.Jan Nasjonal Jazzscene, Oslo, N 2.Feb Paradox, Tilburg, NL 7.Feb Tromsø Jazzklubb 8.Feb Hamar Jazzklubb 9.Feb Ad Lib Jazzklubb, Bodø 25.May NattJazz, Bergen, N

  • Meander

    New album by guitarist Jo David Meyer Lysne and Mats Eilertsen “Meander” to be released Dec 1st @Øra Fonogram

  • Rubicon in October

    Rubicon playing these Festivals in October! 27.October Deutsches Jazzfestival, Frankfurt 28.October Rotterdam Jazzfestival, NL 29.October Belgrade Jazzfestival, Serbia ECM

  • Upcoming Album releases

    Upcoming albums and releases!!   Nils Økland Band “Lysning” @Hubro October 2017 Yügen @Jazzland Rec October 2017 Jo David Meyer Lysne/Mats Eilertsen “Meander” @ØraFonogram Nov 2017   Skydive Trio “tba” early 2018 @Hubro Mats Eilertsen – New Solorecording “tba” spring 2018 @hubro        

  • Recording Bendik Hofseth in June.

    Earlier in June we recorded some beautiful new music Bendik Hofseth has written for a group consisting of Eivind Aarseth, guitar, Helge Iberg, piano, Paolo Vinaccia, drums, Bendik Hofseth sax/vocals. Plus Jan Erik Kongshaug of course, in Rainbow Studios, Oslo Here are some photos I took. Photo of me shot by Christer Falck.

  • GaranaJazz

    Snippet from GaranaJazz, Romania. Håkon Kornstad, Sigbjørn Apeland, Øyvind Skarbø, Mats Eilertsen. *momentul meu preferat Din Norvegia la Gărâna #garanajazzfestival #garanajazzfestival2017 A post shared by Andreea Verde (@andreeaverde) on Jul 8, 2017 at 4:41pm PDT

  • Rubicon live from Hamburg

    Earlier in June this year, Rubicon performed in the Rolf Liebermann Studio, NDR, Hamburg. Here is the recording/broadcasting of the concert!,audio332748.html   Trygve Seim, Eirik Hegdal, Thomas T Dahl, Rob Waring, Olavi Louhivuori, Harmen Fraanje, Mats Eilertsen, David Solheim.

  • Memorabilia. Radio Broadcast Nrk P2

    Our concert and premiere of Memorabilia at Trondheim JazzFest in 2016 will be broadcasted Nrk P2, Jazzklubben Friday 14.april at 2000h   featuring the wonderful Trio Mediaeval; Anna Maria Frimann Henriksen, vocal Linn Andrea Fuglseth, vocal Berit Opheim, vocal Harmen Fraanje, piano Thomas Strønen, drums Mats Eilertsen, bass/compositions Asle Karstad, sound  

  • Spellemann

    Rubicon-album nominated for norwegian Grammy “Spellemann” in the Jazz category. Winners announced Jan 28th.    

  • Touring Finland

    Alexi Tuomarila Trio Touring Finland Alexi Tuomarila Trio Alexi Tuomarila – piano, Olavi Louhivuori – drums, Mats Eilertsen – bass 26 Nov Tallinn, Philly Joe’s, at 21.30, tickets 7/5€ 27 Nov Helsinki, G Livelab, at 19.00, tickets 18€ 29 Nov Oulainen, Kulmajazz, Haapaveden ammattiopisto, at 19.00, tickets 15€ 30 Nov Raahe, Raahesali, at 19.00, tickets […]

  • Rubicon